Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Back (l to r): James Panetta, Stephen McGowan, Ken Wright, Judge John M. Phillips (retired), Ken Petersen, Greg Chilton, Birt Johnson, Jr., Catherine Kobrinsky-Evans, Stephen Dart, Rick Kennifer. Seated (l to r): Betsy Buchalter Adler, Patti Hiramoto, Erica Padilla-Chavez, Anna Marie Ponce, Tina Starkey Lopez, Gail Delorey, Ida Lopez Chan, Tonya Antle. Not pictured: Raul Rodriguez. 

Pictured – 2016 Board of Directors

The Community Foundation for Monterey County (CFMC) is governed by a volunteer board of directors. These community leaders provide strong stewardship by establishing policy, setting priorities and approving final grant decisions. Members serve three-year terms, and their expertise, diverse perspectives and guidance drive our success.

2017 Board of Directors

  • Steve McGowan (Chair) former CFO & Executive Vice President of Corporate Resources, Sun Microsystems, Inc.
  • Ken Petersen (Vice Chair) President, Monterey Private Wealth
  • Teri Belli (Treasurer) CPA Owner, tBelli Consulting
  • Kenneth R. Wright (Secretary) Community Volunteer, Retired California Highway Patrol
  • Betsy Buchalter Adler Trustee and Program Officer, Claire Giannini Fund
  • Ida Lopez Chan Senior Vice President, Wells Fargo Bank
  • Greg Chilton Attorney at Law, Chilton & House, LLP
  • Jeff Eikenberry Former Managing Vice President, Jackson Family Wine
  • Catherine Kobrinsky Evans Partner, The Kobrinsky Group, Commercial Property Asset Manager
  • Patti M. Hiramoto Ed.D., Associate Vice President of Inclusive Excellence, Chief Diversity Officer, CSU Monterey Bay
  • Birt Johnson, Jr. Community Volunteer, former General Manager AT&T
  • Nolan Kennedy Attorney at Law, Kennedy, Archer & Giffen
  • Rick Kennifer Attorney at Law, Johnson, Fantl & Kennifer, LLP
  • Tina Starkey Lopez Owner, JV Automobiles
  • Fred Meurer Owner, Meurer Municipal Consulting
  • Bill Mitchell Managing Director Carmel Realty
  • Erica Padilla-Chavez CEO, Pajaro Valley Prevention and Student Assistance
  • Betsey Pearson Community Volunteer
  • Anna Marie Ponce Owner, Sun Valley Berries, LLC
  • Bill Sharpe  Professor of Finance, Emeritus at Stanford University’s Graduate School of Business

Past Board Chairs

Past Board of Director Chairs

Former board chair luncheon: Front: Dick Borda, Mary Wright, Ann Brown,
Gail Delorey, Bertie Elliott, Kevin Cartwright, Dan Baldwin Back: Craig Johnson,
David Benjamin, Clay Larson, Bill Doolittle, Kurt Gollnick, Bob House

Past Board Chairs

  • Greg Chilton, 2016
  • Rick Kennifer, 2015
  • Gail Delorey, 2014
  • Ann Brown, 2013
  • Craig Johnson, 2012
  • Kurt Gollnick, 2011
  • Richard Borda, 2009-2010
  • David Armanasco, 2007-2008
  • Mary Wright, 2005-2006
  • Kevin Cartwright, 2004
  • Robert House, 2002-2003
  • Kip Hudson, 2000-2001
  • Lewis Fenton, 1999
  • David Benjamin, 1997-1998
  • Clay C. Larson, 1996
  • Basil Mills, 1995
  • William Doolittle, 1993-1994
  • Roberta Bialek, 1990-1992
  • Wilfrid A. Daly, 1989
  • Kenneth Ehrman, 1988
  • Sydney P. Harrison, 1986-1987
  • Joseph A. Lee, 1984-1985
  • Peter Wright, 1981-1983

Monterey Peninsula Foundation*

  • Stoddard Johnston, 1980
  • Ruth Fenton, 1979
  • Howard Bucquet 1977-1978
  • Will Shaw
  • Jean Thomas
  • James vanLobenSels
  • Mrs. Henry Russell
  • Charles Kramer
  • Margaret Jacks
  • Col. Allen Griffin

*Name prior to 1981